Friday Comment: @LeedsBookClub looks ahead into January!

Happy New…what’s that? Oh we’re done with that already.
Right so.

New Years Resolutions.
Every year I swear that I’m not going to get caught up in the whole ridiculous palaver – then without fail – January starts and I find myself wondering what I’ll do differently and before you know it; I’m back in the game!

For 2013, I’m going to try to expand on my list for 2012 – which was less about should and more about enhancing my life experience (yeah, I might have had one or two glasses of wine while I composed it so any and all pretention is inbuilt). All while aiming to enjoy a greater participation in activities and events that were based around Leeds.

Last year I also decided to remove the decision making process from my reading. I only read books that were chosen or suggested to me by others. Broadly, I stuck to it.  I couldn’t possibly *not* read the follow up in the Richard Nottingham series and I did catch up on the latest in the Southern Vampire Mysteries – better known as the True Blood books.
But other than those, I was very good. This has meant that I’ve stalled with regards to the Fire and Ice series and am yet to start the third book a full year and a half after finishing its predecessor. Shocking stuff!

While I don’t think that I can stick to it for another year – my genera’s are just screaming out to me at this point – I have to admit that my reading has become far more varied. A most successful experiment.

On top of my never-ending reading ambitions, I also plan on at least one non-book related goodie for every month! I’m on fire people!

There’s a huge variety of groups and clubs that meet up regularly across the city – so if you’re looking to get involved as part of your resolutions – why not check out one of the below.

If you’d like to enhance your creativity:

  • Leeds Playlist –  One of my most visited websites in 2012. 10 song playlists are created by anyone with a link to Leeds to be shared by the effervescent @Wandapops. There are a variety of themes provided that you can submit from or you can pick your own – I’ve always focused on literary soundtracks myself. A great way to make music part of your weekly ritual; you are certainly going to be exposed to totally different tastes and styles! With a bit of luck, you might make a few new mates also!
  • Leeds Central Library – have a new exhibition ‘Writing Britain’ celebrating the use of regional landscape in literature. There will be items of interest from various library collections, including the British Library alongside new material created especially for the project by a group of creative young people. Though it’s been open since December, I haven’t had a chance to look yet, though I’m determined too before it closes at the end of the month!


Meet Like Minded Tweeps…I mean Peeps

  • Mini-cine – Well into its second year, the award winning Minicine West Yorkshire Community Cinema continues to bring the best of independent/cult/foreign language/arthouse and classic movies to the denizens of Leeds. For January, the Korean film JSA: Joint Security Area will be screening at the Palace Picturehouse in Armley Mills Industrial Museum on the 24th at 7pm. Check out their ‘Coming Soon’ page to find out what’s up next!
  • Travelling Suitcase Library – the amazing portable and fine-free library will be back in 2013 with its own blend of books and banter. You can contact the curator via the link above to arrange for the TSL to come a venue of your choice too!
  • Leeds Meeples – I didn’t make it to this board game extravaganza this year, but will drop in for sure in 2013. You might wonder at my enthusiasm since I don’t play board games (and haven’t since I was old enough to throw pieces across the room at anyone doing better than me), but the people that attend are all supercool awesome types, and you know how I do so love to mingle with those!


Gigs

  • Be Good Tanyas – I’m keeping my eye on the Be Good Tanya gig on the 27th of January at Howard Assembly Roads. At the moment I don’t think I can make it and tickets are bound to sell out quickly. So it you manage to attend and the the folky-bluesy-gospelly Vancouver based trio, say hi for me!!
  • Glen Hansard – Drum roll please – this is my non-bookie event for the month!

To be absolutely sure that I end the month on a total high, I’ve booked myself into City Varieties to see Glen Hansard – the lead singer of the Frames; Oscar winning song-writer; the Commitments Outspan; half of the highly acclaimed duo The Swell Sessions and solo artist. Heck, he even contributed to the Hunger Games soundtrack. Twice!

I’m just a touch excited. Don’t know if that’s coming across at all. If you’re heading to the event, do drop me a line – we can geek out together!


And last but by no means least, the super-subtle self plug… Leeds Book Club – all our regular book clubs will be returning this year and I’m hugely excited! On top of all our regular fun, we’ll be hosting a few events with Leeds Waterstones and interviewing the great and the good across the cultural spectrum, starting off with a director from the West Yorkshire Playhouse!

All are welcome to attend any or all of the following – we aren’t even that fussy about you having the book read – as long as you don’t mind spoilers.

  • #MedusaLBC – Wednesday 9th at Medusa Bar (Horsforth) from 7:30pm – The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • #WSwanLBC – Sunday 13th at White Swan Leeds (City Centre) from 6pm – Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates
  • #LBC3Reads – Saturday 19th at Café 164 (City Centre) from 11am – the City and the Pillar by Gore Vidal
  • #ArcadiaLBC – Sunday 20th at Arcadia Bar (Headingley) from 5pm – The Summer Book by Tove Jansson.
  • #GiraffeLBC, our dystopian themed club – will also be returning on the 5th of February at 6pm at Giraffe Bar and Restaurant to chat about Watchmen – the EPIC comic and its silver screen adaptation.
  • We’ll be launching our second themed book club in February – #LBCPuffins – for adults that want to enjoy children’s books, so take a peek at the blog if you’d like to find out more!

Actually, this month marks LBC’s second birthday at Arcadia in Headingley – the LBC Mothership! Huge thanks to everyone who attends – it’s you lot that make our clubs and blog so awesome!

Hope you all have a fantastic month. Don’t work too hard. And let me know what you get up too!

This entry was posted in Friday comment. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Comment: @LeedsBookClub looks ahead into January!

Comments are closed.